Margaret Cho: Survived a childhood of rape and sexual abuse


In a recent interview with Danielle Bacher of Billboard magazine, Cho, 46, told the magazine that she was sexually molested by a family friend from age five to 12.

“I had a very long-term relationship with this abuser, which is a horrible thing to say,” she told Bacher. “I didn’t even understand it was abuse, because I was too young to know,” she says. “I endured it so many times, especially because I was alone a lot.”

At 14, Cho said, she was raped by an acquaintance.

“I was raped continuously through my teenage years, and I didn’t know how to stop it,” she said. “It was also an era where young girls were being sexualized. For me, I think I had been sexually abused so much in my life that it was hard for me to let go of anger, forgive or understand what happened.”

Read more: Washington Post

Image | This entry was posted in Abuse, Battered Mothers, CAPTA, margaret cho, UN Convention on the Rights of the Child. Bookmark the permalink.